It is currently Wed May 22, 2024 8:57 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Electrical issues...
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 9:52 pm 
SE Member
SE Member

Year and Trim: 2001 Bonneville SSEi
Hey folks. I am new to the bonneville scene and have owned my current 2001 SSEi for about 3 weeks now. It has some usual issues I have found and plan to deal with but in the last day or some, some electrical problems have popped up and I am at a loss as to where to start troubleshooting.

Little back story....
After first buying the car I noticed it had no interior lights. No big deal, checked fuses and found a blown one under seat. Well, after checking under the seat, I noticed the battery has a loose positive connection, as in the bolt is tightened as much as possible but the cable can still rotate. I have yet to address this, car starts and charges fine, so no big deal, right?
I bought the car with a missing pass rear view mirror. Only one hole is covered and I failed to cover the other one a few days ago when we had a monsoon come through. I didn't think anything of it until yesterday.

Driving down the road yesterday, about 3 blocks from home, I noticed a warning dinging sound (like low fuel). I look down and see my traction control is off. Weird, I didn't hit the button. After trying to turn it back on, it wouldn't work. Strange..
I get home and noticed when I turned the ignition off, the doors didn't unlock like they usually do. Again, strange but not alarming. I proceed to get out of the car...again noticing interior lights are not working, blown fuse? Nope. checked it..
At this point, I got to get the contents out of my trunk. The key fob fails to open the trunk, or unlock or lock the car. No worries, I have a key. Well the key fails to open the truck initially. This is cause for concern.