It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 4:24 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:46 pm 
SE Member
SE Member

Year and Trim: 2001 3.8 SLE

I had a brief fling with this marvelous machine, but when my wife and I became Foster Parents it had to go (replaced with a Buick Rendezvous that didn't quite have the same handling capabilities). As you can see, the typical clearcoat failure on these cars was in full bloom, but I didn't care. With the 5Spd, AWD and turbo this little car was by far the most fun I've ever had behind the wheel. As a total novice when it comes to performance or other modifications (or anything mechanical really) on cars all I know is that it did have some aftermarket tweaks by previous owners.

The VW diesel truck in the driveway on the right belongs to my neighbor. Quite a rare vehicle I think. And the Solara in my driveway is what just blew its motor, forcing me to go hunting for a cheap, reliable, comfortable used replacement....

Hence the new to me '01 SLE that my wife is as I type this driving to her 3rd job at Lush at Woodfield Mall. So far so good!

Hmmm, here's a list of cars I've owned: Fiat Panda; Fiat Strada Cabriolet (on the list of the ten worst Italian cars ever); Subaru Legacy (biggest money pit ever placed on to wheels); Hyundai Accent; Hyundai Elantra; Hyundai Sonata; 2xKia Sportage; Honda Element; Nissan Sentra; Buick Rendezvous (blew engine, had it replaced, got t-boned a month later); Kia Rondo (blew engine, replaced under warranty, still going 'strong'); Eagle Talon TSi AWD 5spd (most fun I've ever had behind the wheel); Toyota Solara (RIP, another engine toasted) and now Pontiac Bonneville! I think that is it.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 1:25 am 
SLE Member
SLE Member

Year and Trim: 2002 Ssei
Did a child run out of the house and take the photo?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:52 am 
SE Member
SE Member

Ultra Magnus wrote:

No, a fat middle-aged guy waddled out of the house and took it.