It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 7:45 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: '03 SSEi - Vacuum Hose
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2022 2:30 pm 
LE Member

Year and Trim: '03 SSEi
Hello Everyone (Newbie here),

I have quite an interesting "issue". The Red Vacuum Line right above the Oil Fill (Please see URL Below for reference) plugs into the left right below the Spark Plugs Wires and than plugs into a part (Sorry I do not know what it is) right behind the Light Blue Plug just above to the right of the Oil Fill.

Here is where the fun begins: When it's plugged in, the RPMs and Boost Gage will start to fluctuate (down and back to normal) along with getting a P0401.
When it's Unplugged NONE of this happens and she runs just fine. The line itself is fine (not clogged or cracked). Also, for other maintenance the EGR Valve and TPS have been replaced, so I know those have nothing to do with it because this was happening before replacing those.

So, the million dollar question is...Do I just leave it unplugged? My guess is no, since it's plugged in and there for a reason, but I have no idea where the problem lies...Is it on the left of the line or the right, since it's a "middle" line?

Please Help...TIA

Chris (New Berlin, WI)

https://hpsimotorsports.com/products/hp ... -1998-2003

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2022 7:08 pm 
Administrator
Administrator

Year and Trim: 1992 SSE
2009 G8 GT
That line supplies manifold-pressure air to the boost control solenoid (BCS). If your boost acts weird at idle when hooked up, your BCS is bad most likely. Try plugging the line back into the BCS (part with the light blue clip) and unplug the wiring from the BCS. I bet it runs fine like that too. But with the check engine light, I'm sure.

Or take the short vacuum line off from between the driver side of the BCS and the black canister (boost control actuator - BCA). I bet if acts fine then too.