It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 4:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 2002 SE
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2022 8:11 pm 
LE Member

Year and Trim: 2002 SE
Just got a Bonneville of my own and wanted to know some quicker and cheaper mods I could slap onto it. I’m still a student so the most expensive mod I’m considering is ZZP’s H-Body down pipe with cat. Also considering a K&N drop in filter and a 180° thermostat. I know y’all are a lot more experienced so wanted to know your thoughts on the ease and gains of these mods and other one! Also very curious about aftermarket suspension. Thank you!

Post subject: Re: 2002 SE
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2022 10:31 pm 
Certified Bonneville Nut
Certified Bonneville Nut

Year and Trim: 2003 SLE
I might get some flack for this, but I used to be in your shoes as a student with a limited budget. This is a terrible platform for performance in every sense, and starting with an NA car only makes it worse. Almost nothing makes a noticeable difference in power. The HP per $ ratio is awful. If you really want more power, you need to boost it from the start. But then you're still going to be stuck with a terrible trans made of glass with terrible gearing powering the wrong wheels.

I would recommend saving your money and doing all of the important maintenance items such as lower intake gaskets, upper intake, coolant elbows, addressing interior water leaks, changing fluids, and keeping an eye on rust. Check out the 2000-2005 section for the common problems thread for a great start.
Save your money for a platform/vehicle that actually makes sense to modify. Keep the Bonneville as a daily driver. They are hard to beat for comfort, generally decent fuel economy, ease of maintenance and cheap parts.