It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:20 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:11 pm 
Offline
Certified Bonneville Nut
Certified Bonneville Nut
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 10:45 pm
Posts: 5498
Location: CHICAGO
Year and Trim: 2006 Cadillac STS-V, 2004 Pontiac GTO
Just to be clear, in a service department, there are always "terminals" that are live with the GM Tech Center, that can be accessed for bios, flash, calibration, and other VIN specific updates, as well as running GMSI (GM Service Information), in what at one time was a program called "Dealerworld" One side of it was GMSI, the other was GMVIS (GM Vehicle Information System), another GMNASPO (Parts).

Meaning, if I had to do an odometer change, I would go to the car, download it's pertinent data (VIN#, calibration ID, Bios, etc, etc...), Go back to the Terminal download it in to the terminal, and then the GM Tech center would send back authorization and import that in to the tool, from there, I would go back to the car, and do what was necessary. If the terminal was near, I could just run the Tech2 as a pass through entity. Basically what I'm getting at, is the Tech2, regardless of actual way it does it, was the facilitator between everything.

MDI, builds upon the Tech2 "pass-through" methodology, using the terminal as the facilitator and LAN controller of the entire process, that the actual MDI unit is merely the communication device (or "slave") between the car and the terminal. In some ways, it is actually faster as you are eliminating steps and eliminating potential communication issues with the tool, but you lose portability power. Meaning, you're more tied to the terminals in the service department. Whereas with your T2, you can use it anywhere, anytime and just plug in, and do what you need to do short of needing the tech center authorizations. You're not tied to your local service department. This is the main reason I am not a fan of MDI.

At least this is the best way I can describe it in summary fashion. MDI was just coming in, in it's earliest forms, as I was leaving. So I haven't had as much exposure to it, which is the other reason I prefer the ole Tech2... Familiarity.

_________________
Image

Retired Bonneville Owner and former GM Tech:
2004 Pontiac Bonneville GXP: Black/Ebony *SOLD*

Summer Toys: Combined 827 RWHP / 877lb/ft RWTQ
2004 Pontiac GTO: Impulse Blue Metallic/Black/M6: lots 'o mods, 415 RWHP / 405lb/ft RWTQ!
2006 Cadillac STS-V: Light Platinum Metallic/Light Gray/A6 - Spectre CAI, Magnaflow exhaust, Speed Inc. tune, 412 RWHP / 472lb/ft RWTQ

Daily Drivers:
2015 Chrysler Town & Country Limited Platinum: Mommy's NEW RGC
2007 Chrysler Town & Country Limited: Daddy's beater affectionately called the Rolling Garbage Can or "RGC" for short
2009 Chevrolet Impala SS: LS4 V8, Victory Red
1999 Chevrolet Suburban: Sunset Gold Metallic - Daddy's winter beater and plow truck


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:24 pm 
Offline
LE Member

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:24 am
Posts: 3
Year and Trim: 2008 Chevy Impala LS
CMNTMXR57 wrote:
Just to be clear, in a service department, there are always "terminals" that are live with the GM Tech Center, that can be accessed for bios, flash, calibration, and other VIN specific updates, as well as running GMSI (GM Service Information), in what at one time was a program called "Dealerworld" One side of it was GMSI, the other was GMVIS (GM Vehicle Information System), another GMNASPO (Parts).

Meaning, if I had to do an odometer change, I would go to the car, download it's pertinent data (VIN#, calibration ID, Bios, etc, etc...), Go back to the Terminal download it in to the terminal, and then the GM Tech center would send back authorization and import that in to the tool, from there, I would go back to the car, and do what was necessary. If the terminal was near, I could just run the Tech2 as a pass through entity. Basically what I'm getting at, is the Tech2, regardless of actual way it does it, was the facilitator between everything.

MDI, builds upon the Tech2 "pass-through" methodology, using the terminal as the facilitator and LAN controller of the entire process, that the actual MDI unit is merely the communication device (or "slave") between the car and the terminal. In some ways, it is actually faster as you are eliminating steps and eliminating potential communication issues with the tool, but you lose portability power. Meaning, you're more tied to the terminals in the service department. Whereas with your T2, you can use it anywhere, anytime and just plug in, and do what you need to do short of needing the tech center authorizations. You're not tied to your local service department. This is the main reason I am not a fan of MDI.

At least this is the best way I can describe it in summary fashion. MDI was just coming in, in it's earliest forms, as I was leaving. So I haven't had as much exposure to it, which is the other reason I prefer the ole Tech2... Familiarity.


In my shop, we switch out clusters from a car taken off the road to one where there is an issue quite a bit..having the ability to update the odom would be great. Having one of these T2 clones will enable us to do that? If so, what all else would you need? Sorry for the questions but just used to using an Auto Enginuity laptop scanner for all our repairs, totally unfamiliar with T2 and its procedures.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 2:43 am 
Offline
Certified Bonneville Nut
Certified Bonneville Nut
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 10:45 pm
Posts: 5498
Location: CHICAGO
Year and Trim: 2006 Cadillac STS-V, 2004 Pontiac GTO
You can do it with a T2, but you need authorization from GM (a code if I recall), to make any odometer mileage changes, which means you have to be online with the GM Tech Center in Warren.

You can't just go in and change mileage. That's the equivalent of rolling back mileage and of course fraud if that is the attempt to deceive. I know what you're doing, as one Impala pukes, you're just putting parts into one that still runs. not an issue. But GM has to put some layer of security to keep it from being a key stroke away. Plus mileage is usually maintained in ~3 other components in the vehicle. Not just the cluster/IPC.

If one could do it, I'd reset my mileage on the GTO back to 1 mile after every drive. :)

_________________
Image

Retired Bonneville Owner and former GM Tech:
2004 Pontiac Bonneville GXP: Black/Ebony *SOLD*

Summer Toys: Combined 827 RWHP / 877lb/ft RWTQ
2004 Pontiac GTO: Impulse Blue Metallic/Black/M6: lots 'o mods, 415 RWHP / 405lb/ft RWTQ!
2006 Cadillac STS-V: Light Platinum Metallic/Light Gray/A6 - Spectre CAI, Magnaflow exhaust, Speed Inc. tune, 412 RWHP / 472lb/ft RWTQ

Daily Drivers:
2015 Chrysler Town & Country Limited Platinum: Mommy's NEW RGC
2007 Chrysler Town & Country Limited: Daddy's beater affectionately called the Rolling Garbage Can or "RGC" for short
2009 Chevrolet Impala SS: LS4 V8, Victory Red
1999 Chevrolet Suburban: Sunset Gold Metallic - Daddy's winter beater and plow truck


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:10 pm 
Offline
LE Member

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:00 pm
Posts: 2
Year and Trim: 1964 Pontiac Parisienne Custom Sport Convertible
Just got a membership to comment in this thread! I've just bought a clone tech2 for my Cobalt & Ion Redline (hasn't arrived yet)

About the "online with GM" code authorizations, I thought 07 & earlier gm generally didn't have that. Like for example I have an 06 Cobalt and I had to get a new oem radio. I know that any old tech2 can connect to it and reset the radio's VIN without talking to gm's server (and of course to do that you need some kind of gm subscription which I can't get). I know that 08+ Cobalt's do need to talk to gm's servers to unlock the radio's VIN.

I also want to reprogram an ECM & BCM from another 06 to put into my car and I don't believe I need to have any connection to gm's servers to do that, correct?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:05 am 
Offline
Certified Bonneville Nut
Certified Bonneville Nut
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 10:45 pm
Posts: 5498
Location: CHICAGO
Year and Trim: 2006 Cadillac STS-V, 2004 Pontiac GTO
That's not what I'm talking about. I can reset radios all day and night. I've done it for several here as a matter of fact as well as many GTO's, G8's, etc...

But doing anything that requires an authorization from GM, you can not do. Some of these things like bios downloads, anything with mileage (clusters, etc), etc.

It isn't always model year specific. It's can be platform specific too. What is a requirement for my CAN network setup om either the Caddy or Impala, isn't the same for Bonneville's or my GTO, or Suburban which are regular OBDII.

_________________
Image

Retired Bonneville Owner and former GM Tech:
2004 Pontiac Bonneville GXP: Black/Ebony *SOLD*

Summer Toys: Combined 827 RWHP / 877lb/ft RWTQ
2004 Pontiac GTO: Impulse Blue Metallic/Black/M6: lots 'o mods, 415 RWHP / 405lb/ft RWTQ!
2006 Cadillac STS-V: Light Platinum Metallic/Light Gray/A6 - Spectre CAI, Magnaflow exhaust, Speed Inc. tune, 412 RWHP / 472lb/ft RWTQ

Daily Drivers:
2015 Chrysler Town & Country Limited Platinum: Mommy's NEW RGC
2007 Chrysler Town & Country Limited: Daddy's beater affectionately called the Rolling Garbage Can or "RGC" for short
2009 Chevrolet Impala SS: LS4 V8, Victory Red
1999 Chevrolet Suburban: Sunset Gold Metallic - Daddy's winter beater and plow truck


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:50 pm 
Offline
LE Member

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:00 pm
Posts: 2
Year and Trim: 1964 Pontiac Parisienne Custom Sport Convertible
Oh ok. So it looks like i'll just have to experiment with my individual car to see what things I can do with and without gm authorization. I know all cobalts/ions are canbus, so i'll need to use that CANdi adapter. Cobalts started using a 32 bit ecm in 2007 and it seems like the newer they are the less you can do without gm authorization.

Tis2000 is the software program that you need to make actual programming changes to a car, correct? Doesn't make sense to my why the Tech2 doesn't have all the capabilities by itself.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:41 am 
Offline
Certified Bonneville Nut
Certified Bonneville Nut
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 10:45 pm
Posts: 5498
Location: CHICAGO
Year and Trim: 2006 Cadillac STS-V, 2004 Pontiac GTO
Pretty much.

As to the TIS2000 software, I believe that is what comes with the clone to install on your PC. Mine is a real Tech2 that I used in service, which our TIS terminals in the department had the software professionally installed. So when I needed to access it, it was just done simply as either a pass through, or as a facilitator (meaning you'd get the neccessary info from the vehicle, go to the terminal, upload/download, go back to the vehicle and process). I just plugged into the terminal and it did the rest. I didn't have to worry about the software.

I run GM Service Information on my PC at home, but it doesn't allow/have connections to anything in Warren. It's just a program using the *shoot* VMWare program to run.

_________________
Image

Retired Bonneville Owner and former GM Tech:
2004 Pontiac Bonneville GXP: Black/Ebony *SOLD*

Summer Toys: Combined 827 RWHP / 877lb/ft RWTQ
2004 Pontiac GTO: Impulse Blue Metallic/Black/M6: lots 'o mods, 415 RWHP / 405lb/ft RWTQ!
2006 Cadillac STS-V: Light Platinum Metallic/Light Gray/A6 - Spectre CAI, Magnaflow exhaust, Speed Inc. tune, 412 RWHP / 472lb/ft RWTQ

Daily Drivers:
2015 Chrysler Town & Country Limited Platinum: Mommy's NEW RGC
2007 Chrysler Town & Country Limited: Daddy's beater affectionately called the Rolling Garbage Can or "RGC" for short
2009 Chevrolet Impala SS: LS4 V8, Victory Red
1999 Chevrolet Suburban: Sunset Gold Metallic - Daddy's winter beater and plow truck


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:36 am 
Offline
LE Member

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:27 am
Posts: 2
Year and Trim: 2003
Tech2 clone work fine, I got first one is following this forum links,good recommend

https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6 ... anner.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 3:47 am 
Offline
LE Member

Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:27 am
Posts: 2
Year and Trim: 2003
harofreak00 wrote:
I saw another forum member talking about getting a Tech2 for $300 and I was pretty skeptical, but after he posted that it was working fine, I had to try one.

I ordered one from AliExpress on July 10th and it arrived on July 19th via DHL. I paid $305 shipped. This is the package I received from China.

Image

Opened it up.
Image

Taking it out.
Image

All of it out and unpackaged.
Image

Connector ends.
Image

Software CD.
Image

Apply your own stickers!
Image

CANdi module and cables
Image

The new clone on the left, and my original legit Tech2 on the right. (stickers not applied yet)
Image

Back side.
Image

Bottom port.
Image

Right side.
Image

Top side.
Image

Left side.
Image

The back side after applying stickers.
Image

The VCI module pulled out.
Image

The 32mb PCMCIA data card pulled out.
Image

Booted up in the car.
Image

Displaying the Misfire Graphic screen.
Image

Displaying the Engine Data 1 screen.
Image

My overall impression after playing with it for a few days. Wow! This thing is cheap, works great, and is of the same build quality as my original. Some of the few differences that I immediately noticed are the buttons feel different and the screen is much brighter. The buttons on my original have a distinct "click" feel to them, and the clones are mushy. However I found that the more that I press them, the clickier they get. The screen being brighter is a plus.

The only thing I'm disappointed by that I didn't get the case. The other forum member stated that the price would be much more if you got the case. I wish I had done some more research because I found several sellers selling the same thing with the case for around the same price. However, I did feel more comfortable buying from the same source as the other member.

So what am I going to do with it? Well, having multiple Tech2's would be handy (one at home, one at the shop), but I think I'm going to give it to my Dad. He's been talking about getting one because he is jealous of mine. I'm not going to tell him it's a clone and see if he notices.

Would I recommend this to the ordinary backyard mechanic? YES! With most average scantools being around $150-200 to get ABS and other functions, spending another $100 to being able to access every module and system in the car makes it totally worth it. Most dealers charge a $100+ diagnostic fee just to hook theirs up to your car, what a joke. You can do this yourself and learn more about how your car's computer works. Buy one now!


aliexpress link is dead, I have search online for hours,find this one at best price - 302usd for all (290 good reviews make it trustworthy)
u know that,it must be clone one,but it's what I need.
http://www.chinacardiags.com/wholesale/ ... ckage.html

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Related topics
 Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Any Florida/South Florida participating Tech2's?

Silver03Se

2

865

Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:10 pm

00Beast View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 1998 SSEi Review

razr89a

11

1141

Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:57 pm

razr89a View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. MEVOTECH Part # MP901922 review

MattStrike

1

1101

Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:26 pm

Archon View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Bridgestone Blizzak WS-60 review - FOUR YEAR update 3-12-12

crash93ssei

17

2127

Mon Mar 12, 2012 2:40 pm

J Wikoff View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Review of GM Accessories battery wrap heater

harofreak00

6

2043

Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:45 am

redwingsfan34 View the latest post

 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group


phpBB SEO