It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:19 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Dread Gasket?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 10:09 pm 
LE Member

Year and Trim: 2005 GXP
Hey all, started encountering some cooling problems over the weekend, I'm concerned it may be the beginnings of a head gasket failure but I'm new to these cars and I'd to hear your thoughts. 2005 Bonneville GXP, about 140000km. Low coolant warning came on about 6 weeks ago, the level looked fine but I added a bit and the light went off shortly afterwards- not immediately thought. This past weekend I took it for a road trip, drove for about 90 minutes at highway speed, and then stopped for about half an hour. After I got moving again, the temperature spiked within about twenty minutes. I pulled off, bought coolant and refilled the reservoir, let it cool down and started off again, kept overheating and crawled to a shop in the next town with several stops to cool down. I should add that at this point coolant has been boiling off the relief hose at the top of the reservoir. The guy at the shop says I'm down a bunch of coolant, so he refills and pressure tests and sends me on my way. I make it about another 75 minutes on the highway and run into the same issues. I add water to the reservoir although it doesn't look particularly low, and crawl into the nearest city. Take it to a shop the next morning. This guy also says I'm really low on coolant. I have a rad flush done, because I can see a lot of gunk in the reservoir alone. He also replaced the rad cap because it's only holding ten pounds of pressure. He suggests that it may be the water pump or the head gasket. At this point I give up on my road trip and drive the 3 hours home and- no issues whatsoever. So next day my low oil light comes on, which I thought was odd because I topped it up before I left for my trip. I was due for an oil change anyway so I took it in, and the tech points out that I'm now leaking oil from what appears to be all