It is currently Sun Nov 29, 2020 5:52 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:33 am 
Offline
Posts like an LN3
Posts like an LN3
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:52 pm
Posts: 557
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Year and Trim: 1994 SSEi
Ya know the third wire on the amp cables? Thats just for the remote right, I dont have to plug it into anything? I'm talking about the third wire on the wires that go to the cd player. If not where does it go?

I havent hooked up an amp in far too long

The fuse looks fine, there didnt seem to be any frays in any of the wires and aside from that 3rd wire all the other wires are hooked up and the battery cable is on the top post positive while the car itself is on the side posts of the battery. I tried a different amp and neither are working so it must be in the wiring, hopefully anyway, thatd suck to have both amps fail at once

_________________
1994 Bonneville SSEi
Image
Stereo: Jensen Cd Deck, two 12" 600 watt Visonik subs, 6X9 Kicker "KS SERIES" 3-Way 300 Watts (for now)
Mods: 180* T-stat, Red wire loom, and Red painted strut bar.
Interior: Blue CD Neon, Chrome racing pedals, Custom painted dash
Exterior: Tinted Taillight


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:54 am 
Offline
Certified Bonneville Nut
Certified Bonneville Nut

Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 12:20 pm
Posts: 3162
Year and Trim: 2007 Saturn Aura XR with 3.6L V6.
The remote wire is a wire that has to be hooked to a switched source. it's what tells the amp to turn on. Otherwise it doesn't know to turn on unless it's signal-sensing, which most amps aren't. Connect the remote wire to either the power antennae positive wire, or any switched wire that switches on/off with the ignition.

_________________
2007 Saturn Aura XR with 3.6L V6.
Original B.C. Join Date August 12th, 2002.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:59 am 
Offline
Posts like an LN3
Posts like an LN3
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:52 pm
Posts: 557
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Year and Trim: 1994 SSEi
Custom88 wrote:
The remote wire is a wire that has to be hooked to a switched source. it's what tells the amp to turn on. Otherwise it doesn't know to turn on unless it's signal-sensing, which most amps aren't. Connect the remote wire to either the power antennae positive wire, or any switched wire that switches on/off with the ignition.



In my old car it hooked up to some blue wire for the cd and it worked perfect. how do I hook it up to the antenna wire and where exactly?

The antenna is broken anyway so if I *fook* up it wont mess anything up. Right now Im using the old negative spot from the antenna for the amp (with paint taken off too of course), is it good enough to hook both the amp and the antenna too? Or do I need not even hook the negative of the antenna back up?


EDIT: I honestly thought it was for a remote dial to turn the bass up or down, if I were to buy one anyway

_________________
1994 Bonneville SSEi
Image
Stereo: Jensen Cd Deck, two 12" 600 watt Visonik subs, 6X9 Kicker "KS SERIES" 3-Way 300 Watts (for now)
Mods: 180* T-stat, Red wire loom, and Red painted strut bar.
Interior: Blue CD Neon, Chrome racing pedals, Custom painted dash
Exterior: Tinted Taillight


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:14 am 
Offline
Certified Bonneville Nut
Certified Bonneville Nut

Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 12:20 pm
Posts: 3162
Year and Trim: 2007 Saturn Aura XR with 3.6L V6.
Find which wire on your power antennae is ONLY hot when the radio is turned on. use a multimeter or test light to test for that. The ground for the antennae should be good. The remote terminal you're talking about is on the same section of the amp as the ground/positive right? (it's usually between the - and + connectors.)

_________________
2007 Saturn Aura XR with 3.6L V6.
Original B.C. Join Date August 12th, 2002.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:16 am 
Offline
Posts like a Northstar
Posts like a Northstar
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 10:53 pm
Posts: 1877
Location: Sioux Falls, SD.
Year and Trim: 2005 GXP
Justin - you can hook that up to just about any switched power supply. It doesn't draw hardly any current (shouldn't anyways). It's just like on a relay - the 3rd leg to turn the relay on and off. It just senses current there and then turns on the amp. Basically it's so that your amps don't have to be manually turned on and off, they just turn on and off on their own with the car. Does that make sense? You could still use the remote wire off you current cd player too.

As long as you have a good contact with the sheet metal (on your ground), and have a heavy enough gauge wire for it, the ground you describe sounds like it will be fine. I don't think having the antenna ground being there will hurt anything (both at the same time, I mean).

The remote bass controls I've all seen have a RJ-45, or similar connection phone cable-ish port to hook up the control to.

_________________
-Joshua-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:20 am 
Offline
Posts like an LN3
Posts like an LN3
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:52 pm
Posts: 557
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Year and Trim: 1994 SSEi
TenGHz wrote:
Justin - you can hook that up to just about any switched power supply. It doesn't draw hardly any current (shouldn't anyways). It's just like on a relay - the 3rd leg to turn the relay on and off. It just senses current there and then turns on the amp. Basically it's so that your amps don't have to be manually turned on and off, they just turn on and off on their own with the car. Does that make sense? You could still use the remote wire off you current cd player too.

As long as you have a good contact with the sheet metal (on your ground), and have a heavy enough gauge wire for it, the ground you describe sounds like it will be fine. I don't think having the antenna ground being there will hurt anything (both at the same time, I mean).

The remote bass controls I've all seen have a RJ-45, or similar connection phone cable-ish port to hook up the control to.


Which wire is the cd player remote? The blue one? How do I hook all three up at once? cause the blue wire on the cd player and wiring harness are already in use to each other. Or did I mess up with the cd install?

_________________
1994 Bonneville SSEi
Image
Stereo: Jensen Cd Deck, two 12" 600 watt Visonik subs, 6X9 Kicker "KS SERIES" 3-Way 300 Watts (for now)
Mods: 180* T-stat, Red wire loom, and Red painted strut bar.
Interior: Blue CD Neon, Chrome racing pedals, Custom painted dash
Exterior: Tinted Taillight


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:22 am 
Offline
Posts like a Northstar
Posts like a Northstar
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 10:53 pm
Posts: 1877
Location: Sioux Falls, SD.
Year and Trim: 2005 GXP
This is from memory, but yes, I believe they are usually blue for the remote. What is it connected to now? The factory harness?

_________________
-Joshua-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:23 am 
Offline
Posts like an LN3
Posts like an LN3
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:52 pm
Posts: 557
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Year and Trim: 1994 SSEi
TenGHz wrote:
This is from memory, but yes, I believe they are usually blue for the remote. What is it connected to now? The factory harness?


the RE wire from the amp isnt on anything, the cd's blue wire is connected to the harness yes

_________________
1994 Bonneville SSEi
Image
Stereo: Jensen Cd Deck, two 12" 600 watt Visonik subs, 6X9 Kicker "KS SERIES" 3-Way 300 Watts (for now)
Mods: 180* T-stat, Red wire loom, and Red painted strut bar.
Interior: Blue CD Neon, Chrome racing pedals, Custom painted dash
Exterior: Tinted Taillight


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:24 am 
Offline
Posts like an LN3
Posts like an LN3
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:52 pm
Posts: 557
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Year and Trim: 1994 SSEi
Custom88 wrote:
The remote terminal you're talking about is on the same section of the amp as the ground/positive right? (it's usually between the - and + connectors.)


Yea thats the terminal I mean

_________________
1994 Bonneville SSEi
Image
Stereo: Jensen Cd Deck, two 12" 600 watt Visonik subs, 6X9 Kicker "KS SERIES" 3-Way 300 Watts (for now)
Mods: 180* T-stat, Red wire loom, and Red painted strut bar.
Interior: Blue CD Neon, Chrome racing pedals, Custom painted dash
Exterior: Tinted Taillight


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:28 am 
Offline
Posts like a Northstar
Posts like a Northstar
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 10:53 pm
Posts: 1877
Location: Sioux Falls, SD.
Year and Trim: 2005 GXP
Ok, then you can run the blue wire to the remote terminal on your amp. It will turn your amp on when the radio comes on then.

_________________
-Joshua-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:29 am 
Offline
Posts like an LN3
Posts like an LN3
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:52 pm
Posts: 557
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Year and Trim: 1994 SSEi
TenGHz wrote:
Ok, then you can run the blue wire to the remote terminal on your amp. It will turn your amp on when the radio comes on then.


How tho? the ends are occupied by each other, or can I just unhook the blue ones and hook my amp up to the cd's blue and itll be fine?

_________________
1994 Bonneville SSEi
Image
Stereo: Jensen Cd Deck, two 12" 600 watt Visonik subs, 6X9 Kicker "KS SERIES" 3-Way 300 Watts (for now)
Mods: 180* T-stat, Red wire loom, and Red painted strut bar.
Interior: Blue CD Neon, Chrome racing pedals, Custom painted dash
Exterior: Tinted Taillight


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:33 am 
Offline
Posts like a Northstar
Posts like a Northstar
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 10:53 pm
Posts: 1877
Location: Sioux Falls, SD.
Year and Trim: 2005 GXP
Well, if you have a power antenna, it will make it not go up and down like it should if you unhook it from the harness. You mentioned your antenna doesn't work properly anyways. But, you could splice BOTH wires (one for your antenna, and another for your amp remote) to the blue one - that won't hurt anything and they will both work as designed.

_________________
-Joshua-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:35 am 
Offline
Posts like an LN3
Posts like an LN3
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:52 pm
Posts: 557
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Year and Trim: 1994 SSEi
TenGHz wrote:
Well, if you have a power antenna, it will make it not go up and down like it should if you unhook it from the harness. You mentioned your antenna doesn't work properly anyways. But, you could splice BOTH wires (one for your antenna, and another for your amp remote) to the blue one - that won't hurt anything and they will both work as designed.



*fook* it, the antenna dont work so it gets annoying having the sound but no action...kinda like sex

OK, last question then, the amp's blue will hook up to the cd blue or the harness blue?

_________________
1994 Bonneville SSEi
Image
Stereo: Jensen Cd Deck, two 12" 600 watt Visonik subs, 6X9 Kicker "KS SERIES" 3-Way 300 Watts (for now)
Mods: 180* T-stat, Red wire loom, and Red painted strut bar.
Interior: Blue CD Neon, Chrome racing pedals, Custom painted dash
Exterior: Tinted Taillight


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:37 am 
Offline
Posts like a Northstar
Posts like a Northstar
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 10:53 pm
Posts: 1877
Location: Sioux Falls, SD.
Year and Trim: 2005 GXP
Cd's blue.

_________________
-Joshua-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:38 am 
Offline
Posts like an LN3
Posts like an LN3
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:52 pm
Posts: 557
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Year and Trim: 1994 SSEi
cool thanx a lot

_________________
1994 Bonneville SSEi
Image
Stereo: Jensen Cd Deck, two 12" 600 watt Visonik subs, 6X9 Kicker "KS SERIES" 3-Way 300 Watts (for now)
Mods: 180* T-stat, Red wire loom, and Red painted strut bar.
Interior: Blue CD Neon, Chrome racing pedals, Custom painted dash
Exterior: Tinted Taillight


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:39 am 
Offline
Posts like a Northstar
Posts like a Northstar
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 10:53 pm
Posts: 1877
Location: Sioux Falls, SD.
Year and Trim: 2005 GXP
Not a problem. :wink:

_________________
-Joshua-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:49 pm 
Offline
Resident Gearhead
Resident Gearhead
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 7:36 pm
Posts: 2405
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Year and Trim: (RIP 10/31/15) 1997 SE
05 Mercedes S500 4Matic
If both your amp and CD unit have (blue) power-on sensing wires, you can tap your amp's blue sense wire into the wire that is already going to the CD unit. This circuit draws utterly insignificant current, it's basically just a voltage sense circuit. When that wire goes hot, the sense circuit turns the unit on from its main power cable. When that wire goes ground, it turns the unit off.

So if you already have one blue wire going from your head unit / harness / whatever, to your CD unit, you can just tap the amp's blue wire off of that.

_________________
PontiacDad at WCBF `08: "By any chance, was his name. . .Radomir?"

R.I.P. 10/31/15: 1997 SE: "Silver Shadow"
`05 Mercedes S500


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd amp wire
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 1:12 am 
Offline
Posts like an LN3
Posts like an LN3
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:52 pm
Posts: 557
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Year and Trim: 1994 SSEi
I hooked it up and it worked like a charm so thanx

Bugsi: When I get my new antenna Ill have to work off of that at that point so thanx for lettin me know

_________________
1994 Bonneville SSEi
Image
Stereo: Jensen Cd Deck, two 12" 600 watt Visonik subs, 6X9 Kicker "KS SERIES" 3-Way 300 Watts (for now)
Mods: 180* T-stat, Red wire loom, and Red painted strut bar.
Interior: Blue CD Neon, Chrome racing pedals, Custom painted dash
Exterior: Tinted Taillight


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Related topics
 Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Need help with amp wire install

calaeb0896

2

1342

Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:35 pm

calaeb0896 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Which wire for antennae?

motopsyco

2

990

Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:04 pm

Bugsi View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Need help finding 12V Ign wire

afbryant

2

124

Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:52 am

96 SSEi View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Wire colors

putertopia

3

1702

Fri May 30, 2008 1:11 am

putertopia View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. switched wire under dash

pmicaza

6

1579

Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:29 pm

Bugsi View the latest post

 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group


phpBB SEO