It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 4:59 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:45 pm 
LE Member

Year and Trim: 2001 SLE
Hi, I am new to this and honestly don't know anything about cars so please bare with me.

I drive a 2001 SLE, not sure if there are any other specifications to it. I have had this car for about a year now and bought it from family who has taken great care of it.

Back in September or so, I accidentally drove through a puddle that was a little too deep for my car. I had issues with it immediately after, sputtering and wanting to stall, but drove it long enough to get home which was maybe 2 miles.

After my car cooled down I did have any problems with it. But now periodically my SERVICE ENGINE SOON light comes on, and will stay on. My car will act up only occasionally, but after it does my SES light goes off.

Basically if I leave my car sit for a day or so without driving it, I will turn it on and have it start with no issues. But once I start driving, it will sputter and kind of put until it warms up. When I come to stop lights, I normally would put it in park and rev my engine to keep it going. VERY RARELY has it actually stalled, but it does sometimes if I am in between gears. (its automatic, idk if that matters)

I have gotten the code read a few times, and every time it says its a Cylinder 3 misfire. Which could be a range of things.