It is currently Thu May 28, 2020 4:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 3:58 am 
SE Member
SE Member

Year and Trim: 2004 SE
Good evening Bonneville family.

My name is Vin mI'm from LA and I have a 2004 silver SE with 85,000 miles on it. this is second Bonneville.

I'm writing this post regarding the delayed and/or rough shift many have experienced while driving their Bonnys. My car has recently been slow on the timing of its shifts and it occasionally jerks roughly when shifting. I have done a lot of research on the tranny in the Bonneville as well as on this problem. I recently had it scanned at a local tranny shop and the code P1811 appeared, however my check engine light is not on. I mentioned that I believed the PCS is what's causing this, but the shop told me that the only way to fix the problem is to do a rebuild, which they quoted me at $1,700. I'm a broke student, living on loans and in no way can afford this.

For those who have had this problem before, I was wondering if simply replacing the PCS fully solved the problem for them. Furthermore, I was wondering if there are any recommendations on eliminating the delayed and rough shifts.

Thank you guys.

Have a good one.

Best,

Vin

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:29 am 
Certified Bonneville Nut
Certified Bonneville Nut

Year and Trim: 2003 SLE
Welcome to the club!

Do not waste the money replacing the PCS. Installing a Transgo shift kit has proven to be the fix many times for the rough shifting issue. It is a $50 kit and adds a little time to a normal transmission pan drop and filter/fluid change.

It would also be good to check on the front trans mount, near the ABS pump, to see if it is broken. While the PCS is the main cause of the rough shifts, a bad mount can make them seem even worse.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:02 pm 
SE Member
SE Member