It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 1:52 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:55 pm 
SLE Member
SLE Member

Year and Trim: 1995 Bonneville SE
It has the OBD II scanner connector, but I've tried 4 or 5 different scanners, and all i get is a link error. As OBD II started in 1996 do i need a 'special' scanner or software to read, or is there an issue with my connector/link that I need to troubleshoot?

No codes now :) but it does make diagnosing more challenging.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:59 pm 
Site Developer
Site Developer

Year and Trim: 2009.1 G8 GT
2005 GXP
Yes, 95 had "OBD 1.5" which requires an OBD 2 plug on an OBD 1 scanner. Several members have purchased/made these cables, I'm not an expert on them by any means...

RIP sandrock
Sirius wrote:
Think about it. You’re tooling down the road in your Prius, knowing full-well that this thing being green is as big a sham as federally mandated ethanol-enriched gas, Russia pulling out of Ukraine, and Obamacare.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 4:42 pm 
Resident Gearhead
Resident Gearhead

Year and Trim: '00 SSEi (proj), '99 Tahoe & '05 Bonne GXP
There is only 1 scanner that can read OBD1.5, can't think of it but it's a Actron, a big black box and VERY hard to come by nowadays.

And FYI...OBD1.5 isn't close to OBD1. It's pretty proprietary to GM believe it or not...it uses OBD2 interface socket but doesn't use OBD2 pinout nor does it use OBD1 protocol. The only thing in common to OBD1 are the codes that are output. Both Don and myself found out a great deal of information on this subject when:

1) I converted my '93 SSEi to run a '97 OBDII PCM
2) I converted Dons '95 TranSport to run OBDII for his L26 conversion
3) I converted Dons '95 Bonneville to run OBDII so he could be rid of the troublesome 94/95 PCM that had already gone through 4 computers and none of them were really worth a *dang* to start with.

BonneMe wrote:
Looks like a Volt, Sonata, and Taurus got it on.