It is currently Wed Apr 17, 2024 8:16 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:41 pm 
LE Member

Year and Trim: 1992 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi
Hi all,

I've got a 92 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi, been driving it for many years and a repeated problem has been it shutting off at low speeds and around sharp turns. Finally as of a few days ago, it won't even start at all. I'm a total beginner when it comes to anything to do with cars but I'd like to learn and save some money on the repair if it all possible... I took it to a shop in the area who let me know the problem was a bad ignition module, and for them to repair it the total parts & labor would be $428. Is this something I should even consider trying on my own?

I've been trying to look through other threads on this forum and I've watched a few videos of people replacing the ignition module but I'm just not sure if this is something I should try myself since I'm so inexperienced. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 11:09 pm 
Administrator
Administrator

Year and Trim: 1992 SSE
2009 G8 GT
The ignition module is super easy to replace. 6 little bolts hold the coils and module to the mounting bracket, then there's a bolt hiding in the middle of the harness connector holding it to the module.

The stalling on turns will not be related to the ignition module though. There are two causes typical in 92's. The fuel strainer on the bottom of the pump was too small. I've seen it several times. Or, the baffles in the fuel tank could be broken and letting fuel slosh away from the pump. Never seen it myself, but a number of people have reported this problem with their 92's.