It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:26 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 9:40 pm 
Posts like an LG3
Posts like an LG3

Year and Trim: 2005 SE
So, I guess all I'm looking for here is some confirmation - I searched through the topic threads using "tank drop" and "fuel gauge" as word searches, as well as watched all 3 parts of Hans' fuel sending unit replacement for 00-05 (I know it's not the same! I watched it anyway, it was good!), and it would seem that my fuel sending unit has failed. Please, say it isn't so! The thread: "funky fuel gauge" by pmicaza, is the closest to my situation from what I read. My fuel gauge is stock at full. It doesn't sway, it doesn't wobble, it's just plain STUCK at full. Although I'm not a mechanic, I'm also no dummy...I know enough to use the trip odometer, and I plan to refill between 300 and 350 miles on the trip odometer. Without clicking back to read through the thread again, I don't think anybody directly answered this question: is there any way to test or make certain that it is in fact the fuel sending unit before doing a tank drop? Because...I will probably not get to do a tank drop until I go up to visit my parents, and that won't be 'til next spring. I would hate to plan with my Dad to do a tank drop and replace the sending unit, only to find out the sending unit is fine.