It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 7:50 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:14 pm 
LE Member

Year and Trim: 1997 bonneville
I just replaced the fuel pump on a 97 bonneville 3.8 no supercharger and it worked great for a day and again no fuel preusser and i did not hear the fuel pump kick on when i would turn the key so i droped the tank again and i find that theres melted wire on the conector (the 1 that would be inside the tank if that helps) thats on the sending unit.. can any one tell me how this would happen?? and i took a good picture but i cant figger out how the post it ??

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:32 pm 
SLE Member
SLE Member

Year and Trim: 2000 Bonneville SSEI
I work at Advance Auto Parts and sell alot of fuel pumps for GM because of this same problem. Prior to selling car parts I was a certified mechanic for Ford Motor Company for 7 years. What name brand fuel pump was it that you bought? Did it come as fuel pump only or the complete sending unit? Did it include newer wiring harness for the fuel pump itself?

The main fuel pump brand we sell is from a company called Airtex, and to be completely honest they are junk. The Airtex brand we sell has the wiring harness replacement in with the fuel pump to serve as an upgrade. However the wiring is too small and cant carry the voltage and will melt or short out, this isnt always the case but it might be worth checking into. I am really hoping this helps out my friend. I know with me being a new member and everything I am going to have along way to go to have people think I know somethings but hopefully I get there someday.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 12:38 pm 
LE Member