It is currently Wed Apr 17, 2024 9:31 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:50 pm 
GXP Member
GXP Member

Year and Trim: 1998 bonneville SSEi
Hey guys i know it sounds like a dumb question but i have never done one before although i could figure it out. i just figure it would be better to ask first. is there any thing i need to know before getting started ie reversed threads or things that may be in the way that you may not be able to see? can i do it with the rack in? thanks in advance.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:38 pm 
Resident Gearhead
Resident Gearhead

Year and Trim: 2014 Cadillac XTS Vsport.
You should be able to do it with the rack still in the car. This is what I posted over at BPro as an answer to a similar question back in February after doing a '98 Regal. It should be similar for the Bonneville.

The outer has to be removed first, then plan on fighting the jam nut off, because that likes to freeze up on the inner's rod. PB Blaster didn't touch it, but heat did. That has to come off, because you have to remove the boot from the inner. A spring clamp holds the outside of the boot that comes off easily. If you're doing the left, turn the wheel right, and visa-versa. That gives you a bit more room by extending the rack on that side.

The rack side of the boot has a clip type clamp that can be a pain to reach and get off. Plan on replacing that. I just used a worm gear type hose clamp for it. The boot has an air tube to equalize pressure in the boot for each side. Keep an eye on that, and where it goes.

Push the outside of the boot back toward the rack, and you'll see a groove in the rod that holds the boot in place. Put a small rubber band in there to be able to slide that end of the boot over it. The inner side of the boot will be stuck so plan on prying around that to loosen it. Put some tape around the threads of the tie rod to protect the boot, then slide it off.