It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 11:38 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 2:35 am 
LE Member

Year and Trim: 1989 Pontiac Bonneville SE
I have an issue with my 89 SE. It sat for awhile before I got to it, When I first started messing with the car the right back door wouldn't open. Then I started playing with the auto locks to free them cause they are sticking a little. Now both back doors wont open inside or out. the lock switches seem stuck a little and the doors are going nowhere. Help!

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 12:02 pm 
Certified Bonneville Nut
Certified Bonneville Nut

Year and Trim: '99 Montana
'04 Dirtymax
'97 Camaro
'92 Trofeo
The door latch is likely rusting, causing the lock to stick.

Unfortunately, this requires you to remove the door panel. When I did this on the Buick it was very difficult, with the door being stuck shut. Once you do get the panel off, I recommend removing the latches so you can properly clean then and re-grease them with white grease or any other heavy thick grease. It would also be a good idea to use white grease on all the mechanisms for the handle and lock, and grease up the window tracks.

If there is a hole in the door from rust or something that caused the latches to stick, you will want to repair it otherwise the doors will eventually stick again.

The Fleet:
'93 SSEi - Twincharged + manual Build thread
'97 Camaro - Top swap
'05 STS - V8, AWD, her DD
'92 Trofeo - Fair weather DD
'99 Montana - top swap 3800
'04 Sierra 2500HD - LLY Duramax

Current project:
Something cool, trust me.

Upcoming projects:
'92 Bonneville SSE
'87 LeSabre T-type
'67 LeSabre

Gone to greener pastures:
'84 Sierra Classic - Twin turbo 3800
'97 LeSabre - Top swap

RIP:
'86 LeSabre - pictures
'93 SE - L67

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 1:17 pm 
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator

Year and Trim: 2002 SE